TL;DR
Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
CNET reports that its iPhone Duo has passed 100,000 folding cycles in a controlled test, and the experiment is continuing. Apple has not publicly stated a fold-life rating for the phone, so the test has not yet established how long the Duo will last or how its durability compares with rivals.
CNET’s automated Fold-a-Phone test passed 100,000 folding cycles with Apple’s iPhone Duo at 1:30 p.m. ET on Wednesday, according to the outlet, and the durability experiment is continuing. The milestone is an early checkpoint, not a final lifespan result: Apple has not publicly given a fold-life rating for its first foldable phone.
CNET began the test on Friday, placing its iPhone Duo in a custom-built machine at the outlet’s lab in Louisville, Kentucky. The device is repeatedly opened and closed while CNET’s testing team monitors its hinge and two screens. The machine is designed to test foldable phones systematically, supplementing the experience of using a phone by hand.
The test uses a cycle of about four seconds: one second to open, one second at the fully open position, one second to close and one second fully closed. CNET says this pace is intended to resemble ordinary use more closely than a speed-focused test, while avoiding unnecessary stress and heat. One complete open-and-close sequence counts as a single cycle.
CNET’s rig uses motor-driven arms, sensors that stop the machine if an arm is out of position, and monitoring of motor power use. Cameras record the test from multiple angles, while the outlet saves data in multiple locations and uses backup power. CNET says the device will keep cycling until the hinge or a screen fails, with status updates and comparisons planned during the ongoing test.
Durability report · CNET lab test
How Many Folds Can the iPhone Duo Handle?
CNET’s iPhone Duo has passed 100,000 folding cycles in a controlled test. The experiment is still running, and Apple has not published a fold-life rating—so this milestone is a checkpoint, not a lifespan verdict.
What 100,000 Folds Can Show
A measured checkpoint adds evidence about a particular device under a particular method. It does not predict exactly how long every owner’s phone will last.
A real lab milestone
The automated rig has completed more than 100,000 cycles with CNET’s iPhone Duo. The source reports no hinge or screen failure at this stage.
Not a direct ranking
CNET cites 200,000 to 500,000 folds as a range for many current foldables. Different devices, ratings and test methods limit direct comparisons.
One sample, one method
A single test device cannot account for variation between units, habits, impacts, dust, temperature or the conditions of daily use.
One Cycle, Four Seconds
CNET describes the pace as a controlled approximation of ordinary opening and closing—not a full simulation of everyday use.
The motor-driven arms unfold the phone.
The phone stays fully open briefly.
The arms fold the phone shut.
The closed position completes one cycle.
How the numbers relate
A checkpoint beside a broad industry range
The 100,000 mark is half the lower end of the general 200,000–500,000-fold range CNET cites for many current foldables. That visual comparison is context only; it does not establish equivalent test conditions or an iPhone Duo rating.
Illustrative scale. The reported checkpoint and cited ratings may use different methods.
Inside CNET’s Fold-a-Phone
The custom rig was developed over several months and is designed for repeatable observation across supported foldable designs.
Adaptable motor arms
Off-the-shelf components can accommodate book-style and flip-style phones in different sizes and hinge orientations.
Sensors and cameras
Sensors stop the machine if an arm is out of position. Cameras record multiple angles, while the team monitors motor power use.
Not built for every design
CNET says the machine is not designed for trifold phones, which present a separate engineering challenge.
The test’s stopping point
The rated lifespan remains unknown
CNET plans to keep cycling the device until the hinge or a screen gives out. The update does not say whether wear has appeared, whether operation has changed, or when the test will end.
“At 1:30 p.m. ET on Wednesday, we passed 100,000 folds.”CNET’s testing team
What Comes Next
CNET says the experiment will continue, with status updates and comparisons planned during the test window.
Evidence of wear
Updates may report changes to the hinge, either screen or the phone’s operation.
A failure or finish
No component failure or completion date has been announced in this update.
Galaxy Z Fold 8 test
CNET has started a separate test, but has not yet supplied comparative results.
Key Questions
What this update confirms—and what it leaves open.
How many times has the iPhone Duo been folded?
CNET reported more than 100,000 completed cycles at 1:30 p.m. ET on Wednesday. The test is ongoing.
Has the iPhone Duo failed?
The update does not report a hinge or screen failure. CNET says testing will continue until one gives out.
What counts as one fold?
One cycle takes about four seconds: open, hold fully open, close, then hold fully closed.
How long is the phone expected to last?
The source gives no confirmed lifespan, and Apple has not publicly stated a fold-life rating.
Can this be compared directly with other foldables?
Not from this update alone. Direct comparison needs the specific ratings and testing methods for each phone.
What affects real-world durability?
One lab sample cannot capture differences in units, user habits, handling, dust, impacts or temperature.
What 100,000 Folds Can Show
The milestone gives prospective buyers a measured durability checkpoint for a new kind of iPhone, but it does not establish how many years a typical owner can expect the phone to last. A cycle count from one test device is not the same as a lifespan guarantee, and the source does not report a failure at this stage.
The results may also help readers compare the Duo with other foldable phones. CNET says many current foldables carry stated ratings of 200,000 to 500,000 folds, but that range is general context, not a verified rating for the iPhone Duo. Differences in testing methods and real-world use can affect how directly any figures compare.
Apple’s entry also gives more attention to a market that has so far been led by established foldable-phone makers. Independent testing can add evidence to product reviews and manufacturer specifications, though CNET’s experiment covers a particular device and test method rather than every unit a customer might buy.
Products Worth Considering

DJI Mic 3 Wireless Microphone System (2 Transmitters, 1 Receiver, Charging Case)

Apple iPad Air 11-inch (M2), 512GB, Wi-Fi, Space Gray

EcoFlow Smart Home Panel 2 Whole-Home Backup System Hub
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How CNET Built Its Fold Test
CNET says its team developed the Fold-a-Phone over several months in anticipation of Apple’s foldable device. The rig is built from off-the-shelf components and can accommodate book-style and flip-style phones in different sizes and hinge orientations. CNET says it is not designed for trifold phones, which pose a separate engineering challenge.
The testing approach is meant to avoid simply cycling a phone as fast as possible. CNET describes an ordinary pattern as opening a phone, using it for a while, closing it and putting it away. Its four-second cycle is a controlled approximation of that pattern, not a full simulation of daily use, which also involves different handling, temperatures and environments.
CNET’s report places Apple’s arrival in a market where Samsung and other manufacturers have already sold foldables. It notes that the first Galaxy Fold went on sale in the United States in September 2019. CNET has also started testing Samsung’s Galaxy Z Fold 8, but has not supplied comparative results in this update.
“At 1:30 p.m. ET on Wednesday, we passed 100,000 folds.”
— CNET’s testing team
The Duo’s Rated Lifespan Is Unknown
No final failure point has been reported. CNET says it will continue until the hinge or screen gives out, but the update does not say how long that may take, whether any wear has appeared, or whether the phone’s performance has changed after 100,000 cycles.
Apple has not publicly shared a fold-life figure in the source material. It is also unclear how the test result will translate to long-term ownership: one sample cannot account for differences between units, user habits or conditions such as dust, impacts and temperature. CNET’s stated cycle count should be read as a controlled lab observation, not a promise about every iPhone Duo.
CNET Plans More Test Updates
CNET says the folding test will continue and that it plans to share status updates and comparisons during the testing window. The next meaningful developments would include evidence of wear, a change in the phone’s operation, or a component failure; the outlet has not announced a completion date.
CNET also said viewers could follow its iPhone Duo livestream on YouTube from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. ET on Wednesday. Any later comparison with the Galaxy Z Fold 8 will depend on the results of that separate test and on how CNET reports the methods and outcomes for each phone.
Key Questions
How many times has the iPhone Duo been folded in the test?
CNET reported more than 100,000 completed cycles at 1:30 p.m. ET on Wednesday. The test is ongoing.
Has the iPhone Duo failed?
The update does not report a hinge or screen failure. CNET says the test will continue until one of those components gives out.
What counts as one fold in CNET’s test?
One cycle takes about four seconds and includes opening the phone, holding it fully open, closing it and holding it fully closed.
How long is the iPhone Duo expected to last?
The source gives no confirmed lifespan for the phone, and Apple has not publicly stated a fold-life rating. The 100,000-cycle result is a test checkpoint, not a lifespan guarantee.
Can the result be compared directly with other foldables?
Not from this update alone. CNET cites a general range of 200,000 to 500,000 folds for many current foldables, but direct comparison requires details about each phone’s rating and the testing methods used.
Source: CNET
