AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

TL;DR

Before you orderOffer from Amazon

Get the latest gadgets delivered free with Prime

  • Fast, free delivery on millions of items
  • Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
  • Member-only deals all year
Start your free Prime trial Free trial for eligible customers · Cancel anytime
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

CNET reports that its iPhone Duo has passed 100,000 folding cycles in a controlled test, and the experiment is continuing. Apple has not publicly stated a fold-life rating for the phone, so the test has not yet established how long the Duo will last or how its durability compares with rivals.

CNET’s automated Fold-a-Phone test passed 100,000 folding cycles with Apple’s iPhone Duo at 1:30 p.m. ET on Wednesday, according to the outlet, and the durability experiment is continuing. The milestone is an early checkpoint, not a final lifespan result: Apple has not publicly given a fold-life rating for its first foldable phone.

CNET began the test on Friday, placing its iPhone Duo in a custom-built machine at the outlet’s lab in Louisville, Kentucky. The device is repeatedly opened and closed while CNET’s testing team monitors its hinge and two screens. The machine is designed to test foldable phones systematically, supplementing the experience of using a phone by hand.

The test uses a cycle of about four seconds: one second to open, one second at the fully open position, one second to close and one second fully closed. CNET says this pace is intended to resemble ordinary use more closely than a speed-focused test, while avoiding unnecessary stress and heat. One complete open-and-close sequence counts as a single cycle.

CNET’s rig uses motor-driven arms, sensors that stop the machine if an arm is out of position, and monitoring of motor power use. Cameras record the test from multiple angles, while the outlet saves data in multiple locations and uses backup power. CNET says the device will keep cycling until the hinge or a screen fails, with status updates and comparisons planned during the ongoing test.

At a glance
updateWhen: Test update reported Wednesday at 1:30…
The developmentCNET’s automated Fold-a-Phone test passed 100,000 cycles with Apple’s iPhone Duo and will continue monitoring the device.
How Many Folds Can the iPhone Duo Handle?

Durability report · CNET lab test

How Many Folds Can the iPhone Duo Handle?

CNET’s iPhone Duo has passed 100,000 folding cycles in a controlled test. The experiment is still running, and Apple has not published a fold-life rating—so this milestone is a checkpoint, not a lifespan verdict.

Test statusOngoingNo failure reported in this update
Cycle length~4 secOne open-and-close sequence
Other foldables200K–500KGeneral ratings cited by CNET
Apple ratingUnknownNo public fold-life figure

What 100,000 Folds Can Show

A measured checkpoint adds evidence about a particular device under a particular method. It does not predict exactly how long every owner’s phone will last.

01 / Evidence

A real lab milestone

The automated rig has completed more than 100,000 cycles with CNET’s iPhone Duo. The source reports no hinge or screen failure at this stage.

02 / Context

Not a direct ranking

CNET cites 200,000 to 500,000 folds as a range for many current foldables. Different devices, ratings and test methods limit direct comparisons.

03 / Caveat

One sample, one method

A single test device cannot account for variation between units, habits, impacts, dust, temperature or the conditions of daily use.

One Cycle, Four Seconds

CNET describes the pace as a controlled approximation of ordinary opening and closing—not a full simulation of everyday use.

1Second 1Open

The motor-driven arms unfold the phone.

2Second 2Hold open

The phone stays fully open briefly.

3Second 3Close

The arms fold the phone shut.

4Second 4Hold closed

The closed position completes one cycle.

How the numbers relate

A checkpoint beside a broad industry range

The 100,000 mark is half the lower end of the general 200,000–500,000-fold range CNET cites for many current foldables. That visual comparison is context only; it does not establish equivalent test conditions or an iPhone Duo rating.

Reported Duo checkpoint100K
0200K lower range500K upper range

Illustrative scale. The reported checkpoint and cited ratings may use different methods.

Inside CNET’s Fold-a-Phone

The custom rig was developed over several months and is designed for repeatable observation across supported foldable designs.

Mechanics

Adaptable motor arms

Off-the-shelf components can accommodate book-style and flip-style phones in different sizes and hinge orientations.

Monitoring

Sensors and cameras

Sensors stop the machine if an arm is out of position. Cameras record multiple angles, while the team monitors motor power use.

Test boundaries

Not built for every design

CNET says the machine is not designed for trifold phones, which present a separate engineering challenge.

The test’s stopping point

The rated lifespan remains unknown

CNET plans to keep cycling the device until the hinge or a screen gives out. The update does not say whether wear has appeared, whether operation has changed, or when the test will end.

“At 1:30 p.m. ET on Wednesday, we passed 100,000 folds.”CNET’s testing team

What Comes Next

CNET says the experiment will continue, with status updates and comparisons planned during the test window.

Watch for

Evidence of wear

Updates may report changes to the hinge, either screen or the phone’s operation.

Still pending

A failure or finish

No component failure or completion date has been announced in this update.

Comparison

Galaxy Z Fold 8 test

CNET has started a separate test, but has not yet supplied comparative results.

Lab cycle count→Observed checkpoint→More updates needed→No lifespan guarantee

Key Questions

What this update confirms—and what it leaves open.

How many times has the iPhone Duo been folded?

CNET reported more than 100,000 completed cycles at 1:30 p.m. ET on Wednesday. The test is ongoing.

Has the iPhone Duo failed?

The update does not report a hinge or screen failure. CNET says testing will continue until one gives out.

What counts as one fold?

One cycle takes about four seconds: open, hold fully open, close, then hold fully closed.

How long is the phone expected to last?

The source gives no confirmed lifespan, and Apple has not publicly stated a fold-life rating.

Can this be compared directly with other foldables?

Not from this update alone. Direct comparison needs the specific ratings and testing methods for each phone.

What affects real-world durability?

One lab sample cannot capture differences in units, user habits, handling, dust, impacts or temperature.

What 100,000 Folds Can Show

The milestone gives prospective buyers a measured durability checkpoint for a new kind of iPhone, but it does not establish how many years a typical owner can expect the phone to last. A cycle count from one test device is not the same as a lifespan guarantee, and the source does not report a failure at this stage.

The results may also help readers compare the Duo with other foldable phones. CNET says many current foldables carry stated ratings of 200,000 to 500,000 folds, but that range is general context, not a verified rating for the iPhone Duo. Differences in testing methods and real-world use can affect how directly any figures compare.

Apple’s entry also gives more attention to a market that has so far been led by established foldable-phone makers. Independent testing can add evidence to product reviews and manufacturer specifications, though CNET’s experiment covers a particular device and test method rather than every unit a customer might buy.

Products Worth Considering

DJI Mic 3 Wireless Microphone System (2 Transmitters, 1 Receiver, Charging Case)

DJI Mic 3 Wireless Microphone System (2 Transmitters, 1 Receiver, Charging Case)

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

How CNET Built Its Fold Test

CNET says its team developed the Fold-a-Phone over several months in anticipation of Apple’s foldable device. The rig is built from off-the-shelf components and can accommodate book-style and flip-style phones in different sizes and hinge orientations. CNET says it is not designed for trifold phones, which pose a separate engineering challenge.

The testing approach is meant to avoid simply cycling a phone as fast as possible. CNET describes an ordinary pattern as opening a phone, using it for a while, closing it and putting it away. Its four-second cycle is a controlled approximation of that pattern, not a full simulation of daily use, which also involves different handling, temperatures and environments.

CNET’s report places Apple’s arrival in a market where Samsung and other manufacturers have already sold foldables. It notes that the first Galaxy Fold went on sale in the United States in September 2019. CNET has also started testing Samsung’s Galaxy Z Fold 8, but has not supplied comparative results in this update.

“At 1:30 p.m. ET on Wednesday, we passed 100,000 folds.”

— CNET’s testing team

The Duo’s Rated Lifespan Is Unknown

No final failure point has been reported. CNET says it will continue until the hinge or screen gives out, but the update does not say how long that may take, whether any wear has appeared, or whether the phone’s performance has changed after 100,000 cycles.

Apple has not publicly shared a fold-life figure in the source material. It is also unclear how the test result will translate to long-term ownership: one sample cannot account for differences between units, user habits or conditions such as dust, impacts and temperature. CNET’s stated cycle count should be read as a controlled lab observation, not a promise about every iPhone Duo.

CNET Plans More Test Updates

CNET says the folding test will continue and that it plans to share status updates and comparisons during the testing window. The next meaningful developments would include evidence of wear, a change in the phone’s operation, or a component failure; the outlet has not announced a completion date.

CNET also said viewers could follow its iPhone Duo livestream on YouTube from 1 p.m. to 5 p.m. ET on Wednesday. Any later comparison with the Galaxy Z Fold 8 will depend on the results of that separate test and on how CNET reports the methods and outcomes for each phone.

Key Questions

How many times has the iPhone Duo been folded in the test?

CNET reported more than 100,000 completed cycles at 1:30 p.m. ET on Wednesday. The test is ongoing.

Has the iPhone Duo failed?

The update does not report a hinge or screen failure. CNET says the test will continue until one of those components gives out.

What counts as one fold in CNET’s test?

One cycle takes about four seconds and includes opening the phone, holding it fully open, closing it and holding it fully closed.

How long is the iPhone Duo expected to last?

The source gives no confirmed lifespan for the phone, and Apple has not publicly stated a fold-life rating. The 100,000-cycle result is a test checkpoint, not a lifespan guarantee.

Can the result be compared directly with other foldables?

Not from this update alone. CNET cites a general range of 200,000 to 500,000 folds for many current foldables, but direct comparison requires details about each phone’s rating and the testing methods used.

Source: CNET

You May Also Like

Only these iPhone models are getting the new Siri AI this fall

Apple’s new Siri AI will be available this fall only on select iPhone models, starting with iPhone 15 Pro and newer, as part of iOS 27 rollout.

Do Phone Camera Megapixels Matter? The Truth About Camera Quality

Considering megapixels alone can be misleading; discover what truly affects your phone camera’s quality and why it matters.

5G Vs Wi-Fi 6: Which Is Faster for Your Phone?

Wi-Fi 6 and 5G each offer unique speed advantages for your phone, but which one truly delivers faster in your daily use?

Apple Pay Down

Apple Pay experiences widespread downtime, affecting users across the US. Service disruptions confirmed, causes still under investigation.